Doug Connery Award

Celebrating leadership excellence honouring exemplary passion, commitment and dedication to advancing the interests of Canada’s horticultural industry

The Doug Connery Award publicly recognizes person(s) who, in the course of their association with The Fruit and Vegetable Growers of Canada (FVGC) and Canada’s horticulture sector, have made outstanding contributions to the improvement and advancement of the industry. The award was created in 2012 in honour of the late Doug Connery, a Past President and driving force behind FVGC who suffered an untimely passing in 2011.

Previous recipients

2023 - Deb Hart

2022 - Brian Gilroy

2021 - Jocelyn St-Denis

2020 - Tracey Shinners-Carnelley

2019 - Murray Porteous
2018 - John MacDonald
2017 - Gary Linkletter
2016 - Claude Laniel
2015 - Marcus Janzen
2014 - Joe Sardinha
2013 - Ken Forth
2012 - Keith Kuhl
2012 - Steve Levasseur

Evaluation criteria

  • Innovative Contributions made beyond the local/regional level
  • National Impact
  • Provincial Impact
  • Local/Regional Impact
  • International Impact (as applicable)
  • Service to Horticulture
  • Lasting Influence

Nominations must include :

  1. A complete biography of the individual
    This should include: full name, date and place of birth and other pertinent information, as well as career, personal characteristics, awards / honours and the accomplishments of the nominee.
  2. Letter/s of endorsement
    These letters should come from individuals and organizations with which the individual was involved and should include knowledge of specific accomplishments of the individual. When more than one person is included in a nomination, all persons so included should be treated as individuals and documentation submitted should support the induction of all those included in the nomination.
  3. A current, quality photograph must be available upon selection
    Any digital photographs should be a minimum of 300 dpi. The photograph can be provided to FVGC after the individual has been selected for the award.